The Tasting of: Molded Waldorf Salad

6 Feb

Ah, I’m a little behind in my blogging. After the disaster of this weekend (which you will hear about soon enough), hearkening back to Molded Waldorf Salad unbelievably makes me a bit wistful.

Back to the story….

After giving the mold proper time to, um….mold, I finally had my chance to test Betty’s ingenious ways of getting the goods out of the mold itself. It was no small feat. Reminder, here is what our chunky monkey mold looked like:

The mold had set extremely well. And here I am  furiously shaking the mold onto the plate, cursing it in the nicest way I know possible.

We soaked it in hot water for a while, then I re-read Betty’s directions and realized she said to “quickly dip into hot water” …. But I was too late. The first one melted and plopped out looking very juicy and sad. For the next one, I followed Betty’s directions and even “loosened the edge of salad with tip of paring knife” and it came out easy peasy.

Voila!

Look at all that chunky, fruity goodness.

Us tasters weren’t as afraid this time around because this looked a whole  lot safer than the first mold.We also quickly realized we had high expectations for this one.

In the end Molded Waldorf Salad got mixed reviews. It was far, far, far too sweet. And frankly, we are all sick of lemon jello already. This could have used a different base. We all thought that the banana really offset the tartness of everything in the mold and wished that there were more.

If I made this again I would definetly try it with a different flavor of gelatin, but I would also keep my banana and walnut chunks larger and add more than the recipe called for.

Not that I’m ever, ever making this again….

Leave a comment