Confetti Cabbage Mold – What’s Inside

17 Jan

Today was prep day for the first recipe in our challenge, the Confetti Cabbage Mold. Lots of chopping, mixing and horrified grimaces. Jill, our fabulous photog, came over to help the inaugural creation of the first molded salad. As you may have decoded from my lovely shopping list, the Confetti Cabbage Mold includes the following delectable bits:  cabbage, green pepper, onion, and celery. These veggies are mixed with lemon gelatin, mayonnaise and vinegar. If this isn’t enough to make your palette scream, we are told to present our fancy molds on a plate of salad greens with sliced radish decoration. Let’s just say that I’m not finding this promising for our taste buds.

The Goodies

First up…lots of chopping. We had to finely shred the cabbage and dice cucumbers, peppers and onions.

Chop, chop, chop.

Measure and mix.

If we were making a regular chopped salad, this wouldn’t look too bad, right? But this is no normal salad.

I was hesitant to post the next series of pictures, in part because I’m not sure our tasters would be willing to show up if they could see what our treat looks like. But, I have brave friends so I will charge ahead.

Jill and I mixed the gelatin and added the vinegar, mayo and a pinch of salt.

We thankfully set it aside in the refrigerator and waited “until mixture mound[ed] slightly”. While puzzling over this statement, I managed to topple the bowl over and lose a significant amount of the mixture. Normally, I’d be devastated but something made me feel like it was no great loss in this case (hmmmm, what could that be?).

After the gelatin molded slightly, we took the mixture out and tried to “beat until fluffy.” Ug. I have no words.

Then, time to add the veggie confetti (I think this is where I said, “I cannot believe we are going to eat this…”).

Then we mixed and mixed, trying to make this look less questionable, and folded it into our little molds.

Doesn’t this looks like a really horrifying omelet?

With tight grimaces and giggles, we are (proud?) to present our molds, which are happily chilling in my refrigerator until our unmolding experiment tomorrow. Some very brave family and friends are joining me tomorrow for the tasting and hopefully you will get to read their reviews of January’s Confetti Cabbage Mold.

Frankly, I’m terrified.

4 Responses to “Confetti Cabbage Mold – What’s Inside”

  1. craftytara January 17, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    OK, new rule.. DON’T READ THE BLOG UNTIL AFTER THE TASTING 🙂

    • allisonmj January 17, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      Ha! I bet you just can’t wait for the moldy feast tonight now!

  2. allisonmj January 18, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    I love this! I am so excited you will be joining us in our little experiments. Maybe we can get Moldy Chefs from all over the States? I can’t wait to hear what you think of the confetti mold!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Confetti Cabbage Mold – What's Inside (via The Moldy Chefs) « Oldentimes's Blog - January 18, 2011

    […] I’m accepting a challenge, from the Moldy Chefs to prepare these ‘congealed dishes’ in my kitchen and try them out. Anyone else want to play? It’s going to be interesting… Today was prep day for the first recipe in our challenge, the Confetti Cabbage Mold. Lots of chopping, mixing and horrified grimaces. Jill, our fabulous photog, came over to help the inaugural creation of the first molded salad. As you may have decoded from my lovely shopping list, the Confetti Cabbage Mold includes the following delectable bits:  cabbage, green pepper, onion, and celery. These veggies are mixed with lemon gelatin, mayonnaise and … Read More […]

Leave a comment